Drop Down Menus


Blogger Tips and TricksLatest Tips For BloggersBlogger Tricks

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Tripura Assembly Election 2018: 297 candidates including 20 women for polls

297 candidates, including 20 women, are contesting in Tripura Assembly polls 2018. Total 320 candidates had submitted their nominations out of which candidatures of 13 were cancelled.
On the last date of withdrawal on Saturday, 10 candidates withdrew their nominations.

 Total 25,79,060 electorates, including 12,67,785 females, are eligible to cast their votes on 18 February to elect a new 60-member Assembly.

The ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM) has fielded 57 candidates leaving one seat each to its Left Front partner Communist Party of India, Forward Bloc and Revolutionary Socialist Party.

The BJP is contesting from 51 seats. It has left nine seats for its electoral ally, the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT). Congress candidates have filed from 59 constituencies while Trinamool Congress has nominated 24 candidates.

The Election Commission has appointed 25 general observers, eight police observers and 19 expenditure observers to oversee the poll process in Tripura. Over 30,000 civil officials would be engaged to conduct the single-phase Assembly elections.

No comments:

Post a Comment