Drop Down Menus


Blogger Tips and TricksLatest Tips For BloggersBlogger Tricks

Friday, February 26, 2016

Mamata Banerjee will contest from Bhawanipur in Assembly Election 2016

Rumour was that Mamata Banerjee may contest from two constituencies in West Bengal assembly elections 2016 but all speculations are over as the Trinamool Congress supremo will contest from Bhawanipore. Earlier it was said that Mamata Banerjee may contest from Bhawanipur and Burdwan.

CPM and Congress are jointly requesting former Supreme Court judge Ashok Kumar Ganguly to contest from Bhawanipur as an Independent candidate.

Mamata Banerjee won from Bhawanipur assembly constituency in 2011 West Bengal assembly election with a margin of 54,213 votes. Since 2014, a swing towards BJP is observed among Bhawanipur voters. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, BJP’s candidate led the Bhawanipur assembly segment by 185 votes and in 2015Kolkata Municipal Corporation elections, BJP won two of the eight wards in Bhawanipur.

The above result is definitely encouraging for BJP and the party will select a strong candidate.

No comments:

Post a Comment